MPO Milestones

1922 MPO founded, Fort Wayne Indiana
1925 Macedonian Press Bureau founded, New York City
1927 Macedonian Tribune first published on February 10, Indianapolis
1927 National MPO Ladies’ Section founded
1940 Almanac Macedonia published
1946 National YMPO founded
1959 MPO representatives lobby the United Nations on conditions in Macedonia
1964 MPO Representatives speak briefly with President Lyndon B. Johnson and Michigan Governor Gerhard Williams at the Detroit Convention
1983 Macedonian Tribune moved to Fort Wayne and Dorie Atzeff Reynolds becomes the first woman editor
1984 Helen Petroff of Springfield, Ohio becomes the first woman to serve on the MPO Central Committee
1986 Gotse Delchev Fellowship founded
1986 Freedom Monument dedicated, Ft. Wayne
1988 First Macedonian Day of Learning held at Sawmill Creek Resort – Ohio
1990 Ivan Mihailov, Leader of the Macedonian Liberation Movement, dies
1990 Indiana Historic Marker dedicated at site of first Macedonian Tribune office, Indianapolis
1994 MPO purchases Macedonian Tribune Building, Ft. Wayne
1995 Macedonian Veterans Association and Macedonian Professional Association founded
1995 Wreath Laid at Tomb of Unknown Soldier, Arlington National Cemetery
1996 MPO establishes website at
1999 Macedonian Tribune Page One Major Events of the 20th Century is published.
2001 MPO delegation meets with President George W. Bush in Washington DC
2004 MPO sponsors first trip to Macedonia
2003 100th Anniversary of Ilinden is commemorated
2005 MPO delegation celebrates the opening of the Former Yugoslavia Republic of Macedonia’s new embassy in the United States
2008 Andrea Alusheff becomes the first woman MPO President
2013 Fred Meanchoff, MPO President, travels to Brussels to meet with European Union representatives
2016 MPO revised bylaws are passed